top of page

King of Great Blasket

Just to add a little context, Great Blasket is an island off the coast of Ireland which was evacuated in 1953 due to de-population. since much of the younger generation had moved to the mainland leaving the remaining 22 villagers unable to cope with life on the island.

Maurice Daly: King of Great Blasket

Oh my people. Oh my home.

Gone. Dead. Abandoned. Betrayed!

No more than skeletons and ghosts.

And who is that mortal that dares sit

upon my patch of grass, my simple throne

and devour his extravagant food like a savage.

Oh my people! Oh my home!Oh this blasted invader!

Who is he, to wander on top of and through the

graves of mine, my people, my home?

Who is he to comment on our dream like lives

as if he were talking about some rare forgotten species.

I should never have let Cair and Abban leave,

to spark the hope of change in the minds of our young.

Now my island is dead, my gods have abandoned me

and my hopes for this piece of green

have all been dashed.

Oh my people! Oh my home! Oh my ghostly life, please end.


Published 7th December 2016



Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page