top of page

Crowman Cont

"Sergei, I am sorry that I hurt you, I really am. I needed, I just...", how to explain his thought process to someone who knew him intimately, yet, a little understandably given that Crow had never once harmed or used him, was failing to comprehend Crow's thought process behind his decision to go along with Screech's demands?

"Screech wanted to make a deal" Crow said eventually, "trade you for information pertaining Leal and his allies."

"That, I'm well aware of. My mistake for thinking that I mattered to you more than a few pieces of likely inaccurate intel", Sergei stated coldly.

"Oh Sergei. Oh Nature what have I done?" Crow moaned. "Sergei I wasn't going to let him have you. Once I'd received the information I needed I was going to do whatever it took to get you back. Screech was a Guardian of his word but he was also a cruel one. He wanted to make you his own in order to cause me pain. He somehow knew that I love you far far more than I should after what happened to Charlotte and Elisabeth. The only reason that I accepted his demand was because I was trying to keep us safe! I'm sorry Sergei. I'm sorry that I've hurt you. I was trying to think ahead, trying to keep us safe. Most Guardian's hate me and they'll kill you on sight just to cause me pain."

"What about Seamus and Leon?" Sergei asked with a hard glare. "Oh they'll be killed as well if they run into a Guardian on Leal's side. But they'll be killed quickly unlike you I suspect."

"Oh that's nice. Just as I was thinking about having a holiday there are Guardians and their charges out to kill me" Leon said, his English accent infused with a note of panic.

Crow ignored him, all his attention fixed on Sergei who's deep brown eyes were burning like coals. "So you were trying to protect me, well, thanks for that but," he shook his head, a forlorn look in his cooling eyes which made Crow's heart plummet, "I've lost my trust in you". The remaining shards of Crow's heart shattered.

"No Sergei please" Crow begged, feeling stupid, useless tears beginning to slide down his face. Sergei folded his arms and huffed. "Oh get a grip Crowman. I said that you'd lost my trust, I didn't say that you could earn it back."

"Oh thank Nature! What do I need to do? Please tell me" Crow begged. "Don't throw me to the metaphorical wolves without my consent and full knowledge of what I'll be getting into for a start. And don't make decisions for me or speak for me, even if you have my best interests at heart. Do you understand me?"

"Yes I understand Sergei" Crow replied solemnly.

"Sir we're two miles out from our destination" Seamus called. Not taking his eyes off Sergei, Crow stood up then walked over to the other side of the basket to peer at the green mountainous land below that sung with every burst of sweeping Artic wind.

"So this is the 21st Century's Scottish Highlands. Glad to see it hasn't changed much. Still as infernally cold as ever" Crow chattered through shivering teeth.


Published February 24th 2017

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page